Topic: >8 tracks = Playback always glitches

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
    Ionnas
    Participant

Hi, I’m quite new to all this. I downloaded Zynewave Podium Free about two months ago, and tried myself in music-making for the first time. Everything started out okay, but then I started to make more complex tracks and the program isn’t running as smoothly as it should. When I playback to listen to all my tracks, it lags a lot. The program seems confused and overloaded, and the playback cuts and glitches. First I was able to sort of get through it by closind and re-opening the song file and increasing the ASIO buffer size (I use ASIO 4 all), but now it is really bad and increasing the buffing only helps a little bit and temporarily. It seems that as soon as I have more than about 8 tracks, the playbacks stops running well.

I’m sure Zynewave was made to run more than 10 tracks. I feel very limited because of this, and I lose a lot of time. I don’t know if it’s Zynewave or my laptop. Something makes me think it could be my laptop, even thought I bought it last spring, so it’s very new, and it’s supposed to perform quite well (I’m not sure with the terminology and the meaning of these statistics, but I know it’s 6g of ram, and it’s a quadcore, and has an AMD radeon graphics card) BUT I am having problems running adobe photoshop CS5 on it, which I would have thought would work perfectly on it. So if it’s my laptop, what am I doing wrong?

It worries me if it’s my laptop which is causing problems, because I want to purchase a more complex and performing DAW, but will it be able to run it? Is there a sort of limit of tracks Zynewave Podium Free can do?

I know my questions are very large and vague, but I’m a bit clueless, and I thought writing here and interacting with people could help me understand better. Thank you very much for your time. 🙂

Pulse
    Participant